Dennis Rodman and Chris Mullin lead 2011 Hall of Fame class


Legendary NBA bad-boy Dennis Rodman, and original “Dream Team” member Chris Mullin headline the 2011 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame class, which was introduced at last night’s NCAA championship game in Houston.

Rodman is considered to be one of the league’s greatest all-time rebounders, averaging 13.1 per game for his career.  He was a two-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year, seven-time All-Defensive First Team, two-time All-Star, and five-time NBA champion.  While he played for five teams over the course of his 15-year career, he is best remembered for his tenures with the Detroit Pistons—for whom he won back-to-back titles with in ’89 and ’90—and the famous, Michael Jordan-led Chicago Bulls teams of the late 90s, which won three straight championships from 96-98.

Rodman’s career was perhaps overshadowed by his off-the-court antics, which frequently involved dressing in drag for public appearances, run-ins with officials and authority figures, high-profile books and relationships and generally just filling the persona of a rebel.  Even Rodman himself admitted that he was worried his accomplishments on the court would be over-looked due to all the negative press he achieved over the years.

Mullin—out of Brooklyn, New York—was a star at St. John’s University, being named the Big East Men’s Basketball Player of the Year three times, ultimately ending his college career as the school’s all-time leading scorer.  He then went on to a 16-year career with the Golden State Warriors—for which he is most remembered—and the Indiana Pacers.  He was a five-time All-Star, noted as much for his shooting prowess as for his trademark crew-cut.  He was also a member of the original “Dream Team,” the 1992 gold medal-winning Men’s Olympic Basketball team—which was actually enshrined in the Hall of Fame last year, meaning Mullin will be inducted two consecutive years.

Also elected were coaches Tara VanDerveer (Stanford), Herb Magee (Philadelphia University), and Tex Winter (assistant under Phil Jackson), as well as players Arvydas Sabonis, Reece “Goose” Tatum, Tom “Satch” Sanders, Artis Gilmore and Teresa Edwards.

The induction ceremony will be held in August in Springfield, Mass.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *